
 
 

 

     

  
 

   
 

   
  

  
 

  
 

     
   

  
 

  
 

  
  

 
 

      
   
 

  
 

 
 

  
 

    
 

 

 
 

 
  

 
 

 
 

 
   

 
    

  
 
 

~ .VERMONT 
AGENCY OF EDUCATION 

Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators 

QUALIFY FOR PROFESSIONAL LEARNING CREDIT* 

The following activities meet state professional learning requirements for relicensure or reinstatement of a lapsed 
license and shall be verified by L/RSBs and the Licensing Office when the activities meet the requirements below and 
when all required documentation has been submitted. In some cases, there are restrictions on the total number of 
required credits/hours that may be earned through particular categories of activities. (Other activities may be 
acceptable upon consultation with the L/RSB and the Licensing Office.) 

1) In order to be approved, professional learning activities submitted for license/endorsement 
renewal/reinstatement shall: 
a) result in new learning and 
b) relate directly to the knowledge and performance standards (specific to the endorsement area being 

renewed, reinstated, or applying for a Retired ED License) and/or to the Core Teaching Standards for 
Vermont Educators and/or Core Leadership Standards for Vermont Educators; 

2) Professional learning credit/hours may be awarded for activities that are paid or unpaid and required by the 
school/district or self-selected. 

3) A credit is a unit of measure assigned by a local or regional standards board, or the Licensing Office, to 
professional learning activities other than academic credit bearing courses that meet standards for 
relicensure/reinstatement. Fifteen (15) clock hours of professional learning is equivalent to one (1) credit. 
Credit applies equally toward relicensure/reinstatement requirements. 

4) The minimum contact time required for relicensure credit to be accrued is one (1) hour. 
5) Preapproval of professional learning activities is suggested but not required. 
6) Level I renewals require three credits (45 hours) of professional learning in the endorsement area. One of the 

three credits (15 hours) must align with the knowledge and performance standards of the endorsement. 

Educators wishing to reinstate a lapsed Level I which has lapsed 10 or more years must show recency of study 
(VSBPE Policy F2) unless the educator holds a valid Vermont Level II/Retired Educator License.  Recency of 
Study:  Document six credits (90 hours) of professional learning in the endorsement area.  Two of the six 
credits (30 hours) must align with the knowledge and performance standards of the endorsement.  All 
professional learning must be accrued in the five (5) years immediately preceding the reinstatement 
application. 

Level II five (5) year renewals require six credits (90 hours) of professional learning in the endorsement area.  
Two of the six credits (30 hours) must align with the knowledge and performance standards of the 
endorsement. 

Reinstating a lapsed seven (7) year Level II License, an educator would need to document 135 hours of new 
professional learning in the endorsement area.  Three of the nine credits (45 hours) must align with the 
knowledge and performance standards of the endorsements.  All professional learning must be accrued in the 
seven (7) years immediately preceding the reinstatement application. 

7) Credits earned by an educator during a licensure cycle may be used if applicable to address professional 
learning requirements to renew multiple endorsements and also both Level I and Level II licenses. 

8) All documentation must be on official organization stationery, include educator’s name, activity content, 
hours and dates associated with the activity. 

Activities that Qualify for Professional Learning (03/09/22) 1 



 
 

 

     

    
    

 
 

 
 

  

   
 

    
        
        

    
 

   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

  

  
   
  
  

 

  
 

 
 

 

   
 

 
 

   

  
 

 

 

   
 

 

  
    

 
 

  
  

  
  

  
 

    

  
 

 
 

 
 
 
 

  
 

  
  

 
  

 
 

    

   
 

 

  
 

  
 

  
   

 

    
 

   
 

 

  
 

  
   

  
   

    

    
        
 

  
 

 
  

  
   

    
 

  
 

  
 

  
 

    
 

~ .VERMONT 
AGENCY OF EDUCATION 

Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators 

Name of Category: Documentation Shall Include: Limitations : 
1. Academic Courses for credit/grade (graduate, 

undergraduate) 
• Official transcript or grade report (Grade of B 

or better) 
• Relicensure credits granted will equal 

the academic credits indicated on the 
transcript or grade report 

• No limit on number of required credits 
that may be earned in this manner 

2. Academic Courses - Audit • Letter on college/university letterhead signed 
by the professor/instructor presenting the 
course.- Letter to include: 

 Name of Course 
 Dates of Course 
 Hours of attendance for educator 
 Documentation from the educator on the 

work/assignments completed including 
professional reading completed during the 
participation in the course audit 

• A course audit may not exceed 45 hours 
per licensure cycle. 

• An educator may only audit one course 
per licensure cycle. 

3. Workshops/Seminars/Professional 
Conferences Sponsored by Credible and 
Recognizable Organizations 
(e.g., Vermont-NEA, ASCD, school districts, 
VASS, NSTA, AOE, NBTS, etc.) 

• Verification of participation, program content, 
contact hours and dates. E.g. organization 
certificate of completion, letter on official 
letterhead of the organization signed by the 
presenter/instructor 

• No limit on number of required hours 
that may be earned in this manner 

4. Designing, Developing and Teaching Courses • Course or workshop syllabus • Limited to initial offering or complete 
or Workshops – developed for educators or for • Verification by institution or organization on redesign of course/workshop 
a college/university in the presenter’s official stationery that course/workshop was • Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 
endorsement area or educational pedagogy held and dates 

5.. Applied Experience in Content Area of 
Endorsement Through Employment in a 
Related Non-Educational Setting or Internship, 
or Through Related Educational Travel or 
Volunteer Service 

• Description of job/position, educational travel, 
or volunteer service 

• Employer or sponsor verification of 
experience or service on official stationery, 
including number of hours or weeks including 
dates of participation 

• Documentation of the travel (may include 
journal, tickets, museum stubs, itinerary, etc.) 

• Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 

6. Local School/District Initiatives or Action 
Research/Reform Projects 

• Brief description of goals and outcome of 
initiative/research/reform/project 

• Verification by project/initiative convener on 
official stationery of 

- participant's role 
- number of contact hours and dates 

• Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 

7. State/National Education Activities or Reform 
Projects/Committees 

• Brief description of goals and outcome of 
activity/project 

• Verification by project/activity convener on 
official stationery of 

- participant's role 
- number of contact hours and dates 

• Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 

8. Institution of Higher Education Reform 
Activities – Partnerships with K-12 Schools 

• Brief description of goals and outcome of 
activity/project 

• Verification by project/activity convener on 
official stationery of 

- participant's role 
- number of contact hours and dates 

• Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 

9. Educational Research and Publication • Verification of research and publication by 
recognizable and credible organization, or 
verification of acceptance of the thesis by an 
academic advisor in the case of degree-related 
research on official stationery and dates 

• Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 

Activities that Qualify for Professional Learning (03/09/22) 2 



 
 

 

     

    
     

         
 

  
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 
  

 
 

  
 

    
  

 

   
 

  
  

  
 

 

    
 

  
 

 

  
 

   
   

  
   

    

   
          
         
 
 

  
 

  
  

  
   

 
 

 
  

    
 

          
 

 
   

  
 
 

~ .VERMONT 
AGENCY OF EDUCATION 
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Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators 

Name of Category: Documentation Shall Include: Limitations : 
10. National Board for Professional Teaching 

Standards (NBPTS) Certification 
• Verification completion through NBPTS or 

VTNBCT Coordinator of any or all components 
or a copy of National Board Certificate earned 

• A NBTC may be submitted for each 
comparable endorsement for renewal only 
once unless the educator completes the 
certificate renewal process 

• In lieu of NBTC, 45 hours per component 
submitted to NB for each comparable 
endorsement 

11. Industry credentials (e.g., Emergency Medical 
Technician) or Commercial Driver’s License 
(CDL) add-ons 

• Official documentation of passage of the 
examination or receipt of the first CD 

• Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 
• Limited to first issuance of credential or 

CDL 

12. Peace Corps/AmeriCorps Experience • Verification by the organization director (or 
equivalent) of participant’s role on official 
stationery and number of months of 
participation and dates 

• Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 

13. School-Business/Industry or School-
Community Partnership Initiatives 

• Brief description of goals and outcome of 
activity/project 

• Verification by project organizer on official 
stationery of 

- participant's role 
- number of contact hours and dates 

• Limited to 45 hours per endorsement 

14. Participation in Mentoring Program 
as a Mentor or a Mentee of Education 
Professionals. 

• Brief description and impact from mentoring 
program 

• Verification on official stationery by mentor of 
mentee’s role accompanied by number of 
hours and dates 

• Verification by the school principal of 
assignment to this role of mentor, number of 
mentees mentored, and total number of 
mentor training and contact hours involved on 
official stationery including dates 

• Maximum of 45 hours may be awarded for 
participation in a Mentoring 
Program as a Mentor or Mentee of 
Educational Professionals 

Revised and approved by VSBPE on March 9, 2022 
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