# L/RSB Retired Educator Application

### The Vermont Online Licensing System for Educators



# **Resources and Information**

- A retired educator license is only available to those that meet the following requirements:
  - Valid Level II License
  - 15 years licensed experience
  - Withdrawn from active service or will withdraw from active service within six months
  - Receiving or will receive within six months any Educator's Retirement Allowance
  - Completed three professional development credits (45 hours), in each endorsement area, within three years of application
- Do not use Safari to access the system and apply for a license. It is NOT compatible and will not work.



# Before you start....

- 1. You must be registered in the Online Licensing System aka ALiS
- 2. To register go to <u>our website and Click 'Register Here'</u>. For more information on Registering Please view the <u>Registering in ALiS</u> <u>tutorial</u>.
- 3. You need to update your profile information with:
  - Personal & Contact Information
  - <u>Current Employment</u> This is critical as your employment will link you with the correct Local Standards Board or the AOE for approval. Make sure that you select the correct Supervisory Union and school information in the employment section of your profile. If you are not employed in a Vermont School please select "other" and then complete the remaining details.
  - Education Details
- 4. You will need a credit card or checking account to complete the application process.



# **Additional requirements**

Self-Assessment:

- Required if currently practicing under the endorsement to be reinstated. Pension Allowance Verification:
- Document are receiving or will be receiving a retirement allowance from service as an educator

Any additional documentation required by endorsement:

- School Nurses
  - □ Valid VT RN License
  - □ Valid CPR-AED & First Aid
- Physical Education teachers
   Valid CPR-AED & First Aid
- Health Education teachers
   Valid CPR-AED
- Driver Education teachers

□ Certified DMV Driving History



# **Begin the application**

- To apply for a retired license an educator will select from What Do You Want to Do?
- The answer to the second and third questions must be yes in order to apply

#### WHAT DO YOU WANT TO DO?

View Pending Online Application(s)
Update Profile
Renew License(s)
Add New Endorsement
Reinstatement License(s)
Print License Details
Apply For Retired License
Apply for New License
Change Password
PL Activity

### Retired Application Preliminary Question(s)

Fields marked with asterisk (\*) are required

Retired License Application Preliminary Question(s)		
If you have any questions regarding Retired Licensure please contact the Agency of Education at 802-479-1700		
Per federal regulations regarding Criminal Record Checks (CRC); all applicants for Licensure in Vermont need to complete a fingerprint supported CRC conducted for the Agency of Education. Printable forms will appear in your application checklist at the time of submittal. The cost is \$13.25.	0	ОК
Do you have at least 15 years of licensed teaching experience?	) Yes	O No
Are you or will you be receiving a pension from an educator retirement system within the next six months OR have you withdrawn from active service at a Private school that does not offer a retirement allowance?	) Yes	O No

# **Criminal Record Check Application**

- You will be directed to have a complete fingerprint supported criminal record separately from your Retired application **IF** our records indicate that you need an updated CRC or that you have not completed a CRC after July 1, 1998 per <u>Vermont Statute</u>.
- A non-refundable fee of \$13.25 will be required. Review our directions: <u>Criminal</u> <u>Record Check</u>
- Within your checklist at the submission of your application Print the form: Vermont Crime Information Center (VCIC) Fingerprint Authorization Certificate (FAC). (You may access this form immediately when submitting your CRC application)
- Do not call and make your fingerprinting appointment until the Renewal Application has been submitted to the Agency of Education
- The Agency of Education cannot accept CRC Applications without a corresponding Application for licensure.



# **Criminal Record Check Continued**

• Complete the CRC information, and check the attestation. Submit to AOE and pay the required fee

				<b>Criminal Record Chec</b>	k
				Fields marked with as	sterisk (*) are require
PERSONAL & CONTACT INFORMATION	CRC NFORMATION				
CRC Information					
	g Criminal Record Checks (CRC); ucation. Printable forms will appea			o complete a fingerprint supported CRC ubmittal. The cost is \$13.25.	ОК
Place of Birth		Additional state(s	) where I have resid	ed or been employed?	
City/Town *		Colorado	Mississippi	Rhode Island	
Country *	United States	🗌 Hawaii	Montana	🗌 Utah	
		Illinois	New Brunswick	Wyoming	
State *	Choose One 🗸	Massachusetts	New Hampshire		
	Reset	Save & Logout	Save & Go to	o Next Step	



### **Attestation and Payment for CRC**

- Within your checklist at the submission of your application Print the form: Vermont Crime Information Center (VCIC) Fingerprint Authorization Certificate (FAC). (You may access this form immediately when submitting your CRC application)
- Do not call and make your fingerprinting appointment until the Renewal Application has been submitted to the Agency of Education
- The Agency of Education cannot accept CRC Applications without a corresponding Application for licensure.

#### Confirmation

Thank you for using our online services. Your Criminal Record Check application is being submitted to the Vermont Agency of Education for further review. Your online transaction number is 22620. Please read the checklist item(s) sections for items under review. You may attach supporting documents with each item.

If you would like to print your payment receipt <u>click here.</u> Or view the payment history section via your home menu. If you would like to print your online application summary <u>click here</u>

#### Checklist

Item	Item	View/Attach	Item Status
#	Item	view/Attach	Item Status
1	Receipt received from fingerprinting center, when fingerprinting is complete upload to checklist.	Documents (0)	Pending
		Plea <mark>se click here to</mark>	
		print the form you	
		need to take to a	
		fingerprinting center.	
		Click here to view	Pending
		the Vermont	
		Criminal Records	
2	Vermont Criminal Information Center, Fingerprint Authorization Certificate.	Check packet that	
2	vermone entruitation echeer, imgerprint Autorization echileate.	contains information	
		about Vermont	
		Fingerprint	
		Identification	
		Centers and	
		instructions for out-	
		of-state/country	
		applicants.	
3	Others	Documents (0)	N/A

### **Personal Information Tab**

- Once the CRC application has been completed and submitted, you will be redirected to the home menu. Select Apply for Retired License from the What Do You Want to Do
- Personal Information and Contact Information screen will open and educator may review and edit.
- If all is accurate SAVE & Go to Next Step.
- Do not toggle between the tabs in the application, your information will not save.

		Online Reins	statement Applicat	tion	
				Fields mark	ed with asterisk (*) are required.
INFORMATION	Information for accuracy.			FORM	ATTESTATION
Personal Information					
Last Name * BOLTE Suffix Gender * Male SSN * xxx-xx-00	Ethnicity *	r First & Last Names 🛛 🔞	USAIN Prefer not to answe ▼		L. 01/01/1980 📰 Prefer not to answe 🔻
Contact Information Our primary means of com	munication is by email. Please give us	an email address you will che	ck regularly, including during the	e summer.	
Country *	United States 🔻				
Street 1 * City *	GGN BRATTLEBORO	Street 2 State/Province *	Vermont <b>T</b>	Zip * 0530	01
Phone # - Ext. *	111-111-1111 -	Alternate Phone # - Ext.	111-111-1111 -	Fax	
Preferred E-mail *	rebecca.gile@vermont.	Alternate E-mail			
	Reset	Save & Logout	Save & Go to Next Ste		

# **License Information Tab**

- License Information screen will appear.
- Educator will select Requested Action for endorsement(s)
- For multiple endorsements may choose which endorsements to retire

PERSONAL INFORMATION	ICENSE INFORMATION PROFESSIONAL LEARNING	GOOD STANDING DECLARATION	DISCLOSURE	ATTESTATION	ı		
Current Licens	e(s)						
License Type	Endorsement		Subject Limi	t Grade Li	mit Expir	ation Date	
	0-36 (Early Childhood Education, Birth through Grade 3)		None	None	06/30	)/2018	
II	8-82 (Special Educator, Grades K- 8)			None	06/30	)/2018	
License(s)/Endorsement(s) that can be retired License Type Endorsement Subject Limit Grade Limit Restriction Label Expiration Date Requested Action							
	0-36 (Early Childhood Education, Birth through Grade 3)	None	None	None	6/30/2018	Retire 🗸	
II	I     I     I     I     I     I     I       8-82 (Special Educator, Grades K-8)     None     None     None     6/30/2018     Do Not Retire						

### Employment Details and Professional Learning Tab

- Educator verifies the info is correct do not enter an end date. <u>Please see</u> <u>our tutorial on adding employment</u>.
- Professional Learning also appears and educator has option to select:
  - YES PL has been submitted to L/RSB
  - No PL has not been submitted to L/RSB must then enter PL activities. <u>View an additional tutorial on adding PL</u>.
- Has option to add more PL if needed, even if Yes selected.
- Current L/RSB is listed at the bottom of this section

### **Professional Learning for Level II Retired:**

- 45 hours of new learning per endorsement
- 15 hours of new learning specific to the endorsement being reinstated
- All professional learning within three years preceding the retired application



### Employment Details and Professional Learning Screenshot

Online Retired Application

Fields marked with asterisk (\*) are require

PERSONAL UCENSE INFORMATION		MENT DETAILS & ONAL LEARNING		DISCLOSURE FORM	ATTESTATION	
mployment Detail					Add Employment   De	elete Employmen
inter current employer – do NOT previous 3 years.	enter end date	(for current e	mploymer	nt outside VT School choose "Other	'). List previous educational e	mployment only fo
Employer Name	Start Date	End Date	%FTE	Continuing Employment E	mployment Code	
Franklin Northwest SU	08/01/2011		100	Yes T	eacher - Level I, Level II and Re	tired
rofessional Learning Activitie	s				Add Activity	/   Delete Activit
st it again. If you choose to list ave you provided the professional Activity Name	•	-	· · · · ·	will be able to upload the documer Description	How You Will Send	Oyes Or Document(s)
ProFile Seminar	05/14/2015	05/16/2015	16	This seminar is taken at the start of the program and is a prerequisite f or admission into the graduate prog- ram. Students will utilize activities as self-assessment tools to reflect of n their personal and profession gro wth objectives and envision the edu cator they hope to become in the fu- ture.	u Upload online	Documents (0)
Dimensions in Teaching Edcuation echnology	T 08/10/2015	08/14/2015	45	This first teaching and instructional technology course that explores various technology tools and methods.	· Upload online	Documents (0)

#### Your current L/RSB: Franklin Northwest

Submit to L/RSB

Reset Save &

## **Activity Detail Screen**

- Educator completes Activity Details
- If activity applies specifically to endorsement selects the endorsement to which it applies
- Checks applicable teaching/leadership standards. Fields marked with asterisk (\*) are required. Activity Details

Activity Details			
Completion of a minimum of 3 credits Completion of a minimum of 6 credits Completion of a minimum of 9 credits 1 credit of professional learning is equ	or 90 hours of professional learning. or 135 hours of professional learning.		
Activity Type *	Choose One 🔻	Activity Name *	1
# Of Hours *		Start Date *	 1
How will you send Document(s)? *	Choose One 🔻	End Date	 1
Description *			
Expected or Actual Impact *			
Completed? *	Choose One 🔻		

#### **Related Endorsement**

Related endorsement(s): If this goal is related to one or more endorsement, please select those endorsement(s).

- 1 -00 (Elementary Education, Grades K-6)
- 3 -85 (Consulting Teacher, Grades PK-12)

Core Teaching Standards	5
-------------------------	---

<u>Click here</u> to view the Vermont Core Teaching Standards.							
The Learner and Learning Content and Knowledge Instructional Practice Professional Responsibility							
Learner Development	Content Knowlege	Assessment	Professional Learning and Ethical Practice				
Learning Differences	Application of Content	Planning for Instruction	Leadership and Collaboration				
Learning Environment		Instructional Strategies					

# Submission to L/RSB

- You may upload your certificates in the 'documents' window
- Select submit to L/RSB

rofessional Learning Activities Add Activity   Delete Activity						
List all the professional learning activagain. If you choose to list profession Have you provided the professional learning activation of the professional learning activation of the profession	nal learning a	ctivities here y	ou will be a	ovided the professional learning activities to upload the document(s) with the second se		ot required to list it
Activity Name	Start Date	End Date	# of Hours	Description	How You Will Send Documents	Document(s)
TEST	08/02/2016	08/09/2016	45	TEST	Upload online	Documents (0)
		Your c Reset		/RSB: Chittenden South Logout Submit to L/R	SB	

### **Payment Screen**

- Choose 'pay now' on the fee details screen, submit payment using a credit card or electronic check.
- Your retired application has been submitted to the L/RSB for review.

Fee Detail	
Fee Details	
Additional licensing fees will be requested when application review is completed. Application Processing Fee	\$50.00
Total Fee	\$50.00
Edit Application Pay Now	

### **Checklist Screen**

Retired Confirmation list:

- L/RSB name
- Transaction number

Educator can now upload:

- Document of self-assessment or
- Addition PL documentation or
- Any other relevant documentation

#### **Online Retired Application Submitted**

#### Confirmation

Thank you for using our online services. Your retired license application is being submitted to the Vermont Agency of Education for further review. Your online transaction number is 22363. Please read the checklist item(s) sections for items under review. You may attach supporting documents with each item.

If you would like to print your payment receipt <u>click here.</u> Or view the payment history section via your home menu. If you would like to print your online application summary <u>click here</u>

#### Checklist

Item #	Item	View/Attach	Item Status
1	Verification of Self-Assessment on Teaching and/or Leadership Practice Form- education.vermont.gov/licensing/licensed-educators/renew-license	Documents (0)	Pending
2	Professional Learning Activities Review	Documents (0)	Pending
3	Review Good Standing Declaration. (AOE staff only)	Documents (0)	Pending
4	Review Disclosure form. (AOE staff only)	Documents (0)	Pending
5	Verification of pension	Documents (0)	Pending
6	Others	Documents (0)	N/A

### L/RSB Review

- Educator's part is now done, so it is time for the L/RSB to review the reinstatement application.
- Once your L/RSB or the AOE reviews your retired application, you will receive a notification email prompting you to log back in and complete the legal forms.
- Log into your account and select View Pending Online Applications. Click the green complete application button.

Pending Online Appl	ication(s)				
Application Type	Transaction #	Date	Current Step	Application Summary	View Details
Online Retired Application	22363	02/15/2018	Initial Application (Retired) License Request Review by AOE	Application Summary	View Details
Criminal Record Check	22362	02/15/2018	CRC Request Review by AOE	Application Summary	View Details



# **Good Standing Declaration Form**

- You must select a response for each section. You may need to submit additional information depending on your response.
- When this step is complete, 'Save & Go to Next Step'

Online	Reinstatement Application
	Fields marked with asterisk (*) are required.
PERSONAL UCENSE EMPLOYMENT DETAILS & CR INFORMATION PROFESSIONAL LEARNING INFORM Good Standing Declarations	
Child Support (You MUST check one:)	Taxes (You MUST check one:)
<ul> <li>I am not subject to a child support order; Or</li> <li>I am subject to a child support order and I am in good standing or in full compliance; Or</li> <li>I am not in good standing or in full compliance</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>I am in good standing in regards to my Vermont Taxes (all returns are filed and paid); Or</li> <li>I have never lived or worked in Vermont and do not owe Vermont taxes; Or</li> <li>The liability for any Vermont taxes due and payable is on appeal; Or</li> <li>I am in compliance with a payment plan approved by Vermont Department of Taxes; Or</li> <li>I am not in good standing in regards to my Vermont taxes</li> </ul>
Unemployment Compensation (You MUST check one:)	District Court Fines / Judicial Bureau Fines (You MUST check one:)
<ul> <li>This does not apply to me because I have never been an employer in Vermont; Or</li> <li>No contributions or payments in lieu of contributions are due and payable; Or</li> <li>The liability for any contributions or payments due and payable is on appeal; Or</li> <li>I am in compliance with a payment plan approved by the commissioner; Or</li> <li>I am not in good standing in regards to unemployment compensation</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>I do not have any unpaid judgments; Or</li> <li>I am in good standing with respect to any unpaid judgments; Or</li> <li>I am not in good standing in regards to unpaid District Court or Judicial Bureau fines</li> </ul>



### **Disclosure Form**

- You must select a response for each section. You may need to submit additional information depending on your response.
- When this step is complete, 'Save & Go to Next Step'

	Online Reinstatement Application		
	Fields marked with as	terisk (*	) are requir
PERSONAL INFORMATION	UCENSE EMPLOYMENT DETAILS & CRC GOOD STANDING DISCLOSURE ATTESTATION		
	•		
Disclosure	Questions		
	r to any of the questions "A" through "I" is "yes", you must provide a complete explanation. A "yes" answer to any of those que		
	c denial of licensure. The circumstances will be investigated and reviewed. If you have previously reported the same incident to , please indicate so.	the Ag	ency
01 2000000			
	Question	Resp	onse
Α.		_	
А.	Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor? If yes, please provide a written explanation and specify the court that issued the conviction. Please note that a plea of nolo contendere counts as a conviction of a criminal offense.	Yes	O No
в.	Do you have any pending criminal charges? If yes, please provide a written explanation and specify the court that has jurisdiction of the		•
	charges.	Yes	No
с.	Have you ever had an adverse action taken against any application, certificate, or professional license in any state? Adverse action		0
	includes but is not limited to the following: letter of warning, reprimand, denial, suspension, revocation, or cancellation.	Yes	No
D.	Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a professional license or certificate or withdrawn an application for a professional license or		$\bigcirc$
	certificate?	Yes	No
Ε.	Is there any adverse action now pending against you in any state by any professional licensing agency or have you been notified of any	0	O No
_	ongoing or potential investigation or inquiry regarding any professional license?	Yes	NO
F.	Have you ever resigned, entered into a settlement agreement, or otherwise left employment as a result of alleged misconduct or incompetence?	O Yes	O No
G.	Have you ever been disciplined, reprimanded, suspended, removed or discharged from employment or student teaching because of		
<b>u</b> .	allegations of misconduct or incompetence?	O Yes	O No
н.	Are you now, or have you ever been, required to register as a sex offender in any jurisdiction of the United States, including any state,		0
	territory, commonwealth, the District of Columbia, or military, federal, or tribal jurisdiction?	Yes	No
I.	I acknowledge that the Vermont Agency of Education may receive updates to my criminal conviction record via VCCRIS (Vermont		
	Criminal Conviction Record Internet Service) and may use this information to verify my answers to the above questions. I understand		
	that this information will be used for reviewing my suitability for licensure. I further understand that within 30 days of receiving the results of the record check or update, I have the right to appeal the findings in writing to the Vermont Criminal Information Center,	⊖ <b>γ</b> α	25
	Department of Public Safety, 103 South Main Street, Waterbury, Vermont 05671-2101.		



Save & Logout Save & Go to Next Step



### **Attestation Form**

- You MUST check the Attestation to submit your application. This is your form of electronic signature.
- Click **SUBMIT TO AOE** to submit your application for final review.

	Online Reinstatement Application
	Fields marked with asterisk (*) are required.
	CRC GOOD STANDING DISCLOSURE ATTESTATION TESSIONAL LEARNING INFORMATION DECLARATION
Place of Birth	
City/Town *	Berlin
Country *	United States
State *	Vermont
You must check the following: I hereby authorize release of any informatic and/or the Vermont Child Protection Registre	n of reports of abuse, neglect or exploitation substantiated against me and contained in Vermont Adult Abuse Registry ry to the Vermont Agency of Education.
Attestation	
<ul> <li>required to complete a Self-Assessment.</li> <li>I certify that the information provided on thi misrepresentation or misstatement of mater</li> </ul>	ment of my teaching and/or leadership practice or have not been practicing under this endorsement and therefore are not s application and in supporting documents and attachments is true and complete. I am aware that any falsification, ial information may be grounds for denial of a license or for subsequent suspension or revocation thereof. ord check process. Failure to do so could result in a licensing action pursuant to 16 V.S.A 1698(1)(F)

Submit to AOE



# **Final Payment**

• Once an AOE specialist reviews your application, and approves it, you will receive a notification email prompting you to log back into your account and complete the final payment. Click the green pay now button.

Pending Online Applic	ation(s)					
Application Type	Transaction #	Date	Current Step	Application Summary	View Details	Action
Online Retired Application	22363	02/15/2018	Initial Application (Retired) License Request Review by AOE	Application Summary	View Details	Pay Now

• You will then choose whether you would like to receive a formal copy of your license (additional fee of \$10). Choose yes or no then click pay now.

License Type Endorsement Grade Limit Subje	ect Limit Issue	e Official Copy of License *
Professional Educator License (Level I) 1 -00 (Elementary Education, Grades K-6) None None		
Professional Educator License (Level II) 3 -85 (Consulting Teacher, Grades PK-12) None None		<b>T</b>

AGENCY OF EDUCATION

# **Final Approval**

- Proceed through the payment screens to submit your final payment.
- You will receive a payment receipt confirmation via email.
- An AOE specialist will now approve your reinstatement when payment is received. You will receive an email confirmation that your reinstatement is approved. You may then login to your account and print your license details. <u>Tutorial here</u>.

